My Social Network: A Simple Connected Graph

My Social Graph

A Social Network, literally. The image above is my Facebook social graph; with my friends, my friends of friends and so on as the vertices connected by edges representing their Facebook friendships, limited only by members’ individual privacy options. You can click on it (a better idea would be to right-click and then do a “Save Link As”) to open a 32MB ultra high-res .png file where you can actually zoom in to read the names and stuff.

The graph’s split up into dense clusters of friends, corresponding to my current college, junior college and school. An interesting thing I noticed was Varun Vaswani, Chinmay Deshpande, Kunal Bhatia and Prashant Sriram happen to be my bridge vertices; if all four of you somehow just disappeared, or never existed, there would be no connection between my Facebook friends at Goa (The bottom BITS Goa cluster) and at Bangalore (the top-left Deeksha cluster and the top-right VNS cluster). I guess we’re all special and indispensable to each other in some way.

Image generated using a slight mod of the very intuitive fbfriendsgraph python script

5 responses to “My Social Network: A Simple Connected Graph

  1. So we can exchange knowledge :D … I found two interesting software: SNAP and MASON. You can find the first one here: http://snap.stanford.edu/ , it seems to be interesting, but to customize you have to write in C++ and it doesen’t have a graphic render of the result (for what I read)

  2. Tnx for the reply.
    What I need, is a network composed by several nodes disconnected, and see its growth as the connection (arcs) grow up. So I’ll be able to estimate how many facebook users are needed to make facebook connected (if the node are 500 million, and the arcs grows randomly (without any assumptions). Do you have any suggestion of software in order to make such simulation ?

    Thanks
    Giuseppe

    • I don’t know of any software, but it’d be interesting to develop. I’m currently checking if someone else has already addressed this or a similar question, doing some searches on Google Scholar and plain Google. I’ll let you know if I come across anything. If there’s nothing already done, we will need to develop a mutating graph simulator using JUNG. I’d like to help out with that, if you don’t mind?

  3. Congratulation, very interesting article … how did you succeed to achieve such information ? Facebook it’s closed, Can you answer to the question: “How many facebook’s user are necessary to make it a complete graph ?” I really would like to know it

    • Thank you, and yours is an interesting question. I didn’t generate the graph myself, it was done by a neat free and open source program I’ve referenced in the post. The social network is not that of entire Facebook, but only of my account.

Leave a Reply

