The Samsung Galaxy 3, Android, USB and Linux

This is a hack to get the Samsung Galaxy 3 to mount as a USB drive on Linux. For some reason, it doesn’t react to being plugged in to my computer, apart from a meek beep and an indication that it’s slyly sucking power from the USB port.

  1. Disconnect your phone from the computer.
  2. Settings -> About Phone -> USB Settings -> Ask on connection
  3. Settings -> Applications -> Development: Check both USB debugging and Stay awake.
  4. Dial *#7284# to open PhoneUtils.
  5. Set both the UART and USB modes to PDA instead of Modem.
  6. Connect the phone to the computer.
  7. You should now receive some sort of USB notification on your phone; you know what to do from here.

This worked for me! Do post in your comments if it worked for you too, or not.

You may need to change the PhoneUtils settings back to the old ones when using your phone as a USB modem.

7 responses to “The Samsung Galaxy 3, Android, USB and Linux

  1. Thanks a ton, i too had the same problem and all is fine now :)

  2. Great advice… I have the very same problem with a Galaxy Tab 10.1 (Honeycomb 3.0), are you aware of any solution for that device?

    • I found a bunch of Samsung Galaxy Tab codes here; the one that worked for the Galaxy S was “*#7284# (USB I2C Mode Control)”, I don’t have a tab so I can’t figure out what would work there. It also appears that some carriers like Verizon disable features of this sort on devices, that could be a problem too.

      • Thanks for the hints, but unfortunately my Galaxy Tab 10.1 doesn’t have any mobile feature—-hence it doesn’t have the phone application, neither any settings regarding the usb except for the debug mode.

        I wonder whether there is a way or not to remove kies on the android side…

    • Hey have you found a solution for that problem yet?
      I am now in the exact same situation with a Galaxy Tab 8.9 D:

  3. Wo, never had the problem but somehow, the galaxy 3 stopped being detected on my Unix box. tried this hack, and it worked. Thanks :-)

  4. Hey!
    Its weird, I didn’t have to make any of these changes till now! Today when I connected the Samsung phone for debugging, it was not getting detected at all, same symptoms as you listed in the post (meek beep, sucking power). So I tried it all out and Boom! worked like a charm! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

